WRITING! TV! STUFF!

WRITING!

Flux. I’ve been in one for about five months. Trying to decide what to write next, novel-wise.

I think of that line, attributed to both Eisenhower and Moltke the Elder, that all battle plans are perfect until the first shot is fired.

My original writing plans for 2012 were derailed. This is not a bad thing at all. I also stopped work on a novel I didn’t care about. That, too was a great thing. Wrote some short stories, did some challenges and experiments, which were awesome. And I have spent a lot of time considering my options and what I’d love to write next.

I was tired of the ideas I’d had last year. They felt stale. Sure, I could crank them up or whatever, but I wanted something new. Something now. So, I’m brainstorming three projects. Each has a jazzy feel. Each is groovy in its own way. And for each, I made sure that the core theme was something I cared about. No final decisions yet, but I suspect I’ll be back on the novel wagon soon.

TV!

Game of Thrones finally had an episode to sink your teeth into. Helps that it took place all in one place, so we got invested in the action and its consequences. But MADMEN is still more riveting to me. Though I do hope they end the series soon. They are running out of highs and lows to play with.

STUFF!

Never thought I’d live to see the day where a straight edge punk rocker would be a pro wrestling champ. But kudos to CM Punk for creating a storybook career for himself in the WWE, against all odds, and let’s have another Summer of Punk to remember! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAuSbe6Oj-M&feature=related

 

About ridlerville

Jason S. Ridler is a historian, writer, and improv actor. He is the author of A TRIUMPH FOR SAKURA, BLOOD AND SAWDUST, the Spar Battersea thrillers and has published over sixty stories in such magazines and anthologies as The Big Click, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Out of the Gutter, and more. He also writes the column FXXK WRITING! for Flash Fiction Online. A former punk rock musician and cemetery groundskeeper, Mr. Ridler holds a Ph.D. in War Studies from the Royal Military College of Canada. He lives in Richmond, CA. Visit him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/jason.ridler.56
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

