Doc Ridler’s Good News Teasers, Rejections, and a Favorite Quote from Ray Bradbury

Much goodness is burbling  under the surface of the water in the shark tank in Ridlerville. But I am not at liberty to say what they are just yet.  By this time next week, though, I expect some blaring of the fog horn from Mount Triumph, located near Monster Archipelago.

Which is fantastic. I’ve been working very hard and (I hope) very smart for many years now to make some kind of career for myself. But like most writers, it’s been a lot of work and little movement forward. Don’t get me wrong, I love the job, but like everyone else I’ve been working hard to fight the odds. And there’s no guarantees what’s good will last more than a goldfish in a toilet bowl. As Paul Westerberg said of the music industry, “it’s not a fair business.” And it never will be. So you get on with it, grow a thick skin, focus on the positives, and keep fighting the odds. I did this for years in short fiction. I actually became part of a lecture at a workshop because of dedication and relentless enthusiasm, with my infamous stat of collecting 246 rejections and garnering 17 sales in one year as an example of tenacity in action.

So I’m glad there some good stuff popping now on different fronts. I’ve worked really hard to create work and opportunity. I’ve got a lot of drive and what the Brit’s call “bottom”, or endurance. Which reminds me of a quote from Ray Bradbury that I like a lot.

“Zest. Gusto. How rarely one hears these words used. How rarely do we see people living, or for that matter, creating by them. Yet if I were asked to name the most important items in a writer’s make-up, the things that shape his material and rush him along the road to where he wants to go, I could only warn him to look to his zest, see to his gusto.” Ray Bradbury

What he calls zest, I call “machine gun enthusiasm.” Here’s hoping I hit the targets!

Huzzah,

JSR

About ridlerville

Jason S. Ridler is a historian, writer, and improv actor. He is the author of A TRIUMPH FOR SAKURA, BLOOD AND SAWDUST, the Spar Battersea thrillers and has published over sixty stories in such magazines and anthologies as The Big Click, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Out of the Gutter, and more. He also writes the column FXXK WRITING! for Flash Fiction Online. A former punk rock musician and cemetery groundskeeper, Mr. Ridler holds a Ph.D. in War Studies from the Royal Military College of Canada. He lives in Richmond, CA. Visit him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/jason.ridler.56
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doc Ridler’s Good News Teasers, Rejections, and a Favorite Quote from Ray Bradbury

Leave a Reply

