Ten Things About DragonCon!

Con reports are often really, really boring to folks who weren’t there. So I will keep this short and focused on the five things of sad, and the five things of awesome.

FIVE THINGS OF SAD 😦

  1. Missing out on catching up with others because of how busy it was. I feel rotten about this but I promise to make it up at WFC for all those going.
  2. Hearing sad tales from young ladies fighting off uninvited advances from assholes. Just because you like a woman’s costume does not give you the right to invade her personal space, shithook.
  3. Having to lose the better part of a day to replacing some necessary electronics equipment I forgot at home. Grumble.
  4. Feeling like I gained a thousand pounds by the time I got home.
  5. Losing my freaking badge on the first freaking day. Call this Ridlerfail, 2011.

FIVE THINGS OF AWESOME! 🙂

  1. Hanging out with all the gang from Pyr. To Captain Lou Anders and Crew, you guys are terrific. Thanks for letting me help draw money, move product, and share witty banter with Sam “Librarian’s Choice” Sykes!
  2. Seeing Erin sell lots of books and interact with fans. I’m going to take that one with me when I go.
  3. Being surrounded by happy genre fanatics who were having a blast and generally treating everyone well and with respect. A nice change of pace from much of the doom and gloom I’ve been hearing lately. Plus, I saw a guy dressed as Zoltar from Battle of the Planets. Flipping awesome. I hope to catch one of the Spacekaters next year!
  4. Having my badge returned to me at the lost and found, and when telling them my name, hearing, “no, seriously, what’s your real last name.” Call this Ridlerwin, 2011!
  5. Catching up with other friends who we only tend to see at these events, and enjoying heart-killing southern food in the process!

But on the whole, it was awesome, like last year.  I wished I saw the Jim Steranko panel, and was sad to see James Randi wasn’t there, but all and all a grand time. Bring on DragonCon 2012!!!

JSR

About ridlerville

Jason S. Ridler is a historian, writer, and improv actor. He is the author of A TRIUMPH FOR SAKURA, BLOOD AND SAWDUST, the Spar Battersea thrillers and has published over sixty stories in such magazines and anthologies as The Big Click, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Out of the Gutter, and more. He also writes the column FXXK WRITING! for Flash Fiction Online. A former punk rock musician and cemetery groundskeeper, Mr. Ridler holds a Ph.D. in War Studies from the Royal Military College of Canada. He lives in Richmond, CA. Visit him on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/jason.ridler.56
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

